Eddie Howard - Eddie Howard and His Orchestra 1949-1953-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Eddie Howard and His Orchestra

Eddie Howard - Eddie Howard and His Orchestra 1949-1953

Regular price $23.98

Eddie Howard and His Orchestra  1949-1953

By Eddie Howard

Good Condition. (CD and jewel case are in very good condition. Back insert has a slight waviness. )

Popular vocalist Eddy Howard (1914-1963) formed his own band in 1941, after making a series of records with bandleader Dick Jurgens and various small jazz groups supervised by producer John Hammond. Both elements -- the sweet swinging dance band sound of Jurgens and the genuine jazz preferred by Hammond -- are strongly present in Circle's 24-track anthology of radio transcription recordings made by Eddy Howard and His Orchestra during the years 1949-1953. There are full-blown post-Bix Beiderbecke Dixieland swing numbers like "At the Jazz Band Ball," "'Way Down Yonder in New Orleans," "Coquette," and "Cheyenne," a springy little number penned by one Harry K. Williams. Gooseflesh-inducing cornball vocals erupt during apple pie melodies such as "Little Brown Jug," "I'm a Ding Dong Daddy from Dumas," and "Oh, Mona!" a rowdy singalong routine attributed to Country Washburne and Ted Weems. Most of the rest of the recordings heard here (some of which last less than two minutes) are showcases for Howard's handsome and at times romantically suffused crooning. Although this blend of wholesome styles enabled Howard to succeed with the public for more than ten years, soon after the period covered by this compilation he and his peers would be forced to surrender the limelight to Elvis Presley and Pat Boone and their covers of tunes by Big Mama Thornton, Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup, and Little Richard. What you get here is the last hurrah for old-style entertainment, immediately prior to the first mass-marketing of rock & roll.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. It's All In The Game
  2. I'm A Ding Dong Daddy From Dumas
  3. It's All Over But The Memories
  4. Old Fashioned Love
  5. Out In The Cold Again
  6. At The Jazz Band Ball
  7. Got Her Off My Hands
  8. Balling The Jack
  9. Heartaches
  10. Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  11. Can't We Talk It Over?
  12. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
  13. Little Brown Jug
  14. Surprising
  15. Coquette
  16. I've Got A Feelin' You're Foolin'
  17. Im Lucky I Have You
  18. When My Dream Boat Comes Home
  19. Dreamer's Holiday
  20. Sweet Lorraine
  21. A Little Street Where Old Friends Meet
  22. Oh, Mona!
  23. Dinner For One Please, James
  24. Cheyenne

More from this collection