Son Volt - Best of - A Retrospective 1995 - 2000

Regular price $31.98

A Retrospective 1995-2000 (US Release)

By: Son Volt

 Very Good  Condition

Album Notes
Includes 5 previously unreleased tracks.Son Volt: Jim Boquist (bass instrument); Mike Heidorn (drums, percussion); Dave Boquist, Jay Farrar.Personnel: Jay Farrar (vocals, guitar, dulcimer, harmonica, keyboards); Kelly Willis (vocals); Dave Boquist (guitar, lap steel guitar, dobro, banjo, violin); Dan Newton (accordion); Jim Boquist (piano, background vocals); Michael Heidorn (drums, percussion); John Maloney (drums).Audio Mixers: Brian Paulson; Keith Keller; Jay Farrar; Christopher Williams; David Barbe; Jack Joseph Puig; John Agnello; Mark Haines ; Mike Martin; Peter Coleman.Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.Liner Note Author: Ed Ward .Recording information: Acoustic Cafe, Ann Arbor, MI; Chez Flames, New Orleans, LA; Echo Park, Blooomington, IN; Emerald Sound Studios, Nashville, TN; Jajouka Studio, Millstadt, IL; Pachyderm Studio, Cannon Falls, MN; Salmagundi, Northfield, MN; Sixteenth Avenue Sound; Solid Sound Studios, Ann Arbor, MI; WXPN Studios, Philadelphia, PA.Photographer: Peter Grant .Just because Wilco ended up getting all the press and the Jim O'Rourke hipster cred, that doesn't mean Son Volt should remain forever destined to be the "other" Uncle Tupelo spin-off band. In fact, hardcore UT fans should feel a strong attachment to the latter, as they stayed closer to the spirit of Tupelo's post-modern country-rock.

RETROSPECTIVE does an excellent job of chronicling the group's first five years. All the key tracks from the first three albums are here, from the surprisingly heavy rock of the breakout hit "Drown" to the acoustic-guitar-and-pedal-steel lilt of "Creosote." Most attractive to Son Volt aficionados, though, will be the wealth of rare and previously unreleased tracks. There's a wide variety of cover tunes, with sources including Big Star (the funereal "Holocaust"), Leadbelly (an oddly elegiac "Ain't No More Cane"), and Bruce Springsteen (a countrified "Open All Night"). Equally compelling are SV leader Jay Farrar's solo acoustic demos of his own tunes "Tear Stained Eye" and "Loose String." An essential document of the mid-1990s alt-country renaissance, this collection makes a strong case for Son Volt as that movement's vanguard.

Track Listing

1. Drown
2. Windfall
3. Route
4. Rex's Blues
5. Looking at the World Through a Windshield
6. Too Early
7. Back into Your World
8. Picking Up the Signal
9. I've Got to Know - (previously unreleased)
10. Creosote
11. Straightface
12. Tulsa County
13. Driving the View
14. Ain't No More Cane - (previously unreleased)
15. Flow
16. Holocaust
17. Four track demo) Tear Stained Eye - (previously unreleased
18. Four track demo) Loose String - (previously unreleased
19. live, acoustic) Medicine Hat - (previously unreleased
20. Open All Night

Playing Time: 76 min.
Producer: Jay Farrar, Son Volt, Keith Keller, Brian Paulson, Bruce Ranes
Distributor: WEA (Distributor)
Recording Type: Studio
Recording Mode: Stereo
SPAR Code: n/a

More from this collection