Mills Brothers - Cocktail Hour:-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Mills Brothers

Mills Brothers - Cocktail Hour:

Regular price $23.98

Cocktail Hour:  (2 CD Set)

 By The Mills Brothers

Very Good Condition.

This is a wonderful two-disc collection of Mills Brothers tracks from the 1930s and 1940s, including a classic version of "Lazy River," a beautifully laid-back take on Hoagy Carmichael's "Georgia on My Mind," and an impressive run at a pair of Duke Ellington classics, "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)" and "Caravan" (the Mills Brothers' amazing ability to vocally mimic the instruments of a jazz orchestra allowed them to do fascinating "instrumental" covers of jazz standards). Some fairly essential tracks are missing here, though, like 1952's "The Glow Worm," for one, so this compilation isn't perfect, but it's a lot of fun and it does make a well-sequenced introduction to this amazing and innovative vocal group.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Paper Doll
  2. I'll Be Around
  3. Jeepers Creepers
  4. Lazybones
  5. Organ Grinder's Swing
  6. Nagasaki
  7. Smoke Rings
  8. Basin Street Blues
  9. Funiculi Funicula
  10. Asleep In The Deep
  11. Ay Ay Ay Ay (Cielito Lindo)
  12. Lazy River
  13. Till Then
  14. You Always Hurt The One You Love


Disc: 2

  1. Shine
  2. You Tell Me Your Dream, I'll Tell You Mine
  3. Put On Your Old Grey Bonnet
  4. Rockin' Chair
  5. F.D.R. Jones
  6. Stardust
  7. Caravan
  8. Georgia On My Mind
  9. It Don't Mean A Thing
  10. The Flat Foot Floogie
  11. When You Were Sweet Sixteen
  12. Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
  13. Till We Meet Again
  14. Manana

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Label: Columbia River Ent.
  • ASIN: B01G650F0C

More from this collection