Doris Day - Cuttin Capers/ Bright and Shiny-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Doris Day

Doris Day - Cuttin Capers/ Bright and Shiny

Regular price $23.98

Cuttin Capers/ Bright and Shiny  

By Doris Day

Very ++ Good Condition. (Includes original artwork inserts, jewel case, and Cd, all in very good condition)

This discount-priced two-fer combines two up-tempo Doris Day albums from the late '50s and early '60s. The discs were not released sequentially; 1959's Cuttin' Capers was followed by two 1960 releases, What Every Girl Should Know and Show Time, before Bright and Shiny appeared in 1961. But the two albums share a sprightly tone. The theme of Bright and Shiny is happy songs -- "I Want to Be Happy," "Happy Talk" -- while Cuttin' Capers is even more frolicsome. There are songs that were newly written at the time, such as the scene-setting "Cuttin' Capers," which leads things off, and "Twinkle and Shine," the title song from Day's reissued 1961 film (the first time around in 1959 it had been called It Happened to Jane), which closed the disc, but for the most part the songs are drawn from the Great American Songbook, dating back to the mid-'20s for tunes like "I'm Sitting on Top of the World" and "I Want to Be Happy" (both songs Day had sung in films in the '50s) and as recent as the late '40s for "Steppin' out With My Baby" from the 1948 film Easter Parade and "Happy Talk" from the 1949 musical South Pacific. The material and the arrangements are well chosen for a singer who was better at conveying contentment than turmoil. Of course, Day was always on an even keel, and though she gamely joins in on the celebration like the professional she is, she never gets deliriously happy. Like the screen persona she was developing at the same time in her comedies with Rock Hudson, she is friendly and even sexy, but wholesome and down to earth. These albums were not big sellers in their initial releases, but they hold up well 40-plus years later.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

Cuttin' Capers

  1. Cuttin' Capers
  2. Steppin' Out With My Baby
  3. Makin' Whoopee
  4. The Lady's In Love With You
  5. Why Don't We Do This More Often
  6. Let's Take A Walk Around The Block
  7. I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  8. Get Out And Get Under The Moon
  9. Fit As A Fiddle (And Ready For Love)
  10. Me Too (Ho-Ho! Ha-Ha!)
  11. I Feel Like A Feather In The Breeze
  12. Let's Fly Away
Bight and Shiny
  13. Bright And Shiny
  14. I Want To Be Happy
  15. Keep Smilin', Keep Laughin', Be Happy
  16. Singin' In The Rain
  17. Gotta Feelin'
  18. Happy Talk
  19. Make Someone Happy
  20. Ridin' High
  21. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
  22. Clap Yo' Hands
  23. Stay With The Happy People
  24. Twinkle And Shine

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 099747 759321
  • Barcode (String): 5099747759321
  • Other: 01-477593-10
  • Other (Distribution Code): CB 772
  • Other: CDM
  • Rights Society: MCPS/BIEM
  • Rights Society: SACEM SACD SDRM SGDL
  • Label Code: LC 0162
  • Matrix / Runout: 477593-2 13 A3 (mirrored) DADC AUSTRIA (logo)
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 944A

More from this collection