Nat Shilkpet

Nat Shilkpet - Dancing With Tears in My Eyes

Regular price $23.98

Dancing With Tears in My Eyes  

By: Nat Shilkpet

Very Good Condition. 

Although it shares the same four-year recording span of the 2000 collection Hot Dance Sides (on Swing Time), the ASV/Living Era compilation Dancing With Tears in My Eyes repeats only half-a-dozen sides from Nat Shilkret's enormous discography. Shilkret, who played with concert bands led by John Philip Sousa as well as the New York Philharmonic and served Victor as Director of Light Music across four decades, led hundreds of sessions for various Victor studio bands -- a particularly neglected side of '20s music. (Labels could easily put out a compilation on him every year and still be resurrecting fresh material after a full decade.) Although his groups were more danceable than jazzy, he possessed a sense of taste that never deserted him; consequently, his recordings have a timeless quality rarely equalled by the dozens of ramshackle hot groups desperately trying to grab the coattails of the Jazz Age. "That's My Weakness Now," "Chant of the Jungle," and "The Sidewalks of New York" are great performances, and, best of all, "Dancing With Tears in My Eyes," the biggest hit of his career by far, didn't even make it onto the earlier compilation.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes
  2. Honey Bunch
  3. The Doll Dance
  4. Hallelujah!
  5. Ain't That a Grand and Glorious Feeling?
  6. It's a Million to One That You're in Love
  7. Why Do I Love You?
  8. The Sidewalks of New York
  9. That's My Weakness Now
  10. Dusky Stevedore
  11. Jeannine (I Dream of Lilac Time)
  12. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
  13. Parade of the Wooden Soldiers [Instrumental]
  14. The Man I Love [Instrumental]
  15. Broadway Melody
  16. You Were Meant for Me
  17. Pagan Love Song
  18. Some Sweet Day
  19. Wake Up, Chillun, Wake Up [Instrumental]
  20. The Lonesome Road
  21. Am I Blue?
  22. Chant of the Jungle
  23. The Perfect Song [Instrumental]
  24. Bolero [Instrumental]


More from this collection