Doris Day - What Every Girl Should Know / Sentimental Journey-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Doris Day

Doris Day - What Every Girl Should Know / Sentimental Journey

Regular price $23.98

What Every Girl Should Know / Sentimental Journey

By Doris Day

Very Good Condition

The first half of this twofer is the album What every girl should know. It was recorded in 1959 and is based loosely on the theme of the title track. The songs are from a variety of sources, although the team of Rodgers and Hammerstein composed three of them - A fellow needs a girl, What's the use of wondering and Something wonderful. Perhaps the most famous songs are When you're smiling (a song that was originally a top five American hit for Seger Ellis in 1928) and Duke Ellington's Mood Indigo. Despite the inclusion of When you're smiling, this album is dominated by ballads.
The second half of this twofer is the album Sentimental journey. It was recorded in 1964 and was something of a nostalgia trip for Doris - truly a sentimental journey back to the songs of the forties. The title track is a re-recording (and updating) of the song that provided Doris with her biggest hit during her days with Les Brown. Some may regard the new version as sacrilege, but I love it, as I also love the original.
The album begins with The more I see you. Originally an American hit for Dick Haymes, Chris Montez had an international hit with his cover in the sixties. I remember you was originally a top ten hit for Jimmy Dorsey but Frank Ifield had a huge sixties hit with it around the world, going to the very top of the UK charts. At last and Serenade in blue were popularised by Glenn Miller. Among the other songs here, you can listen to covers of Come to baby do (another song Doris originally recorded with Les Brown), I'll never smile again (Tommy Dorsey), I'm beginning to see the light (Harry James), It could happen to you (Jo Stafford) and It's been a long long time, which topped the 1945 charts in America via two different versions (Bing Crosby, Harry James).
Although these albums were recorded five years apart, they go well together. Two bonus tracks are included - Falling and There they are.
In the USA, What every girl should know was coupled with I have dreamed to make up a twofer, while Sentimental journey was coupled with Latin for overs to make up another twofer, but those albums do not contain any bonus tracks.


What Every Girl Should Know
1 What Every Girl Should Know
2 Mood Indigo
3 When You're Smiling
4 A Fellow Needs A Girl
5 My Kinda Love
6 What's The Use Of Wond'rin'
7 Something Wonderful
8 A Hundred Years From Today
9 You Can't Have Everything
10 Not Only Should You Love Him
11 What Does A Woman Do
12 The Everlasting Arms
13 Falling (Bonus Track)
Sentimental Journey
14 The More I See You
15 At Last
16 Come To Baby, Do!
17 I Had The Craziest Dream And I Don't Want To Walk Without You
18 I'll Never Smile Again
19 I Remember You
20 Serenade In Blue
21 I'm Beginning To See The Light
22 It Could Happen To You
23 It's Been A Long, Long Time
24 Sentimental Journey
25 There They Are (Bonus Track)

More from this collection