Jo Stafford - Drifting and Dreaming With Jo Stafford-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Jo Stafford

Jo Stafford - Drifting and Dreaming With Jo Stafford

Regular price $23.98

Drifting and Dreaming With Jo Stafford

By Jo Stafford

Very + Good Condition. (Includes jewel case, original artwork inserts, and Cd, all in very good condition)

Dipping into the archives of the Armed Forces Radio Service Melody Hour broadcasts VJC has come up with 27 tunes sung by Jo Stafford and Dick Haymes, sometimes together, sometimes in solo performances. 1950 was a very important year for Stafford in that she signed an exclusive recording contract with Columbia Records. Shortly thereafter, she was to marry band leader/arranger Paul Weston to form one of the most famous and enduring husband and wife teams in popular music. In 1950, Stafford revived her performing acquaintance with Dick Haymes as they co-hosted The Carnation Contented Hour. These two were no strangers to each other, having appeared in the 1943 movie DuBarry Was a Lady. Both Stafford and Haymes came from an era when it was the singer's job to deliver the lyrics in a straightforward manner with a minimum of vocal gymnastics, and they do it well.

Drifting and Dreaming is 70 minutes of pleasant and entertaining musical reminiscences. The play list is a combination of "Top 40" songs of the day such as "Play a Simple Melody" and classic standards like "Dream a Little Dream of Me" and "Begin the Beguine." Victor Young provides the orchestral backdrop using a large string section. Stafford contributes some jazzy renditions with a hot-playing small group from Young's larger group. Then there's the patter between Stafford and Haymes as they segue into each number. Reflecting the simpler times of the '50s, years later it sounds dated. But the performances aren't dated even though, as to be expected, Stafford and Haymes join together on a few forgettable items. But these are in the minority. The bulk of what's on this disc is excellent singing by two of the very best from the annals of popular song.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dream a Little Dream of Me
  2. Those Old Piano Roll Blues
  3. I Wanna Be Loved
  4. Them There Eyes
  5. That Old Black Magic
  6. A Little Bit Independent
  7. No Other Love
  8. Play a Simple Melody
  9. I Got the Sun in the Morning
  10. I Still Get a Thrill
  11. I Didn't Slip, I Wasn't Pushed, I Fell
  12. Row, Row, Row
  13. Louise
  14. Driftin' Down the Dreamy Ol' Ohio
  15. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  16. Begin the Beguine
  17. I Love the Guy
  18. Casey Jones
  19. Darn It, Baby, That's Love
  20. I Cried for You
  21. I've Got You Under My Skin
  22. Three Little Words
  23. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  24. We'll Build a Bungalow (Underneath the Bamboo Tree)
  25. Mississippi
  26. Sunshine Cake
  27. Ending Theme and Sign Off


More from this collection