Doris Day

Doris Day & Andre Previn - Duet

Regular price $23.98

Duet - Doris Day & Andre Previn

By Doris Day & Andre Previn

Very Good + Condition. (Includes CD, jewel case, and original artwork inserts.)

Recorded late in 1961, this album is a milestone in Doris Day's career -- despite having generated no hits -- as her best long-player, and her purest jazz solo album. Cut as a duet with André Previn (with Previn Trio bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Frank Capp providing occasional support), the album presents Day in the most intimate musical setting of her career. Her trademark style of singing works twice as well here as it did on her swing-era and early solo recordings. The repertory includes "Fools Rush In," and Alec Wilder's "Give Me Time," "Falling in Love Again," and a few Previn-authored pieces that hold up magnificently in this company.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Close Your Eyes
  2. Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread)
  3. Yes
  4. Nobody's Heart
  5. Remind Me
  6. Who Are We To Say (Obey Your Heart)
  7. Daydreaming
  8. Give Me Time
  9. Control Yourself
  10. Wait Till You See Him
  11. My One And Only Love
  12. Falling In Love Again
  13. Close Your Eyes (Alternate Take)
  14. Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread) (Alternate Take)
  15. You're Good For Me
  16. Nobody's Heart (Alternate Take)
  17. In Love In Vain

More from this collection