Dukes of Dixieland

Dukes of Dixieland - LIVE At Mahogany Hall

Regular price $31.98

LIVE At Mahogany Hall  

By Dukes of Dixieland

Very Good Condition (

 . Longtime New Orleans mainstays The Dukes of Dixieland celebrated their 40th anniversary in 1989 with a robust live recording at Mahogany Hall on Bourbon Street. The festive occasion saw them take warhorses like "Tiger Rag," "Swing That Music," and "Wolverine Blues" and extend them, playing with less polish and more energy. This doesn't have the rehearsed, stiff quality that plagues much traditional jazz. Instead, things are loose, audience response is genuine and spontaneous, and the music has a crackling, unpredictable air that characterized the early groups that The Dukes of Dixieland deify.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Tiger Rag
  2. Avalon
  3. Swing That Music
  4. Creole Love Call
  5. Wolverine Blues
  6. Slide, Frog, Slide
  7. New Orleans
  8. Cherokee
  9. South Rampart Street Parade
  10. A Closer Walk With Thee
  11. Me and My Shadow
  12. That's A-Plenty

More from this collection