Gladys Knight and the Pips - Essential Collection-CDS-Palm Beach Bookery
Gladys Knight & the Pips

Gladys Knight and the Pips - Essential Collection

Regular price $23.98

Essential Collection  

By Gladys Knight and the Pips

Very + Good Condition. (Includes Cd, jewel case and original artwork.)

There have been many Gladys Knight & the Pips collections over the years, yet few have drawn from all periods of their career. Hip-O's 1999 compilation Essential Collection does, beginning with their first hit for Vee-Jay, "Every Beat of My Heart," and ending with their last R&B number one, 1987's "Love Overboard." It doesn't feature every hit they ever had, but it does provide a good chronology of their career by featuring their biggest hits: "I Heard It Through the Grapevine," "If I Were Your Woman," "Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)," "Daddy Could Swear, I Declare," "Midnight Train to Georgia," "I've Got to Use My Imagination," "The Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me," "On and On," "Save the Overtime (For Me)," "Hero (Wind Beneath My Wings)." Anyone looking for a single disc covering the entire career of Gladys Knight & the Pips should turn here.

Product Description

Includes the #1 R&B hits Midnight Train to Georgia; I Heard It Through the Grapevine; If I Were Your Woman; Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye); Save the Overtime (for Me); Love Overboard; Every Beat of My Heart; I've Got to Use My Imagination; Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me , and I Feel a Song (in My Heart) .

While Gladys Knight and the Pips spent large portions of the '60s, '70s, and '80s on the charts, this smart CD is the first attempt to compile high points of their tenures at various labels (Motown subsidiary Buddah, Columbia, MCA). While Knight proved equally at home with smokin' church-bred R&B (the original "I Heard It Through the Grapevine") and uptown pop (an unfortunate medley of "Try to Remember" and "The Way We Were"), she was most effective on plainspoken tales of everyday people. That's the reason "Grapevine," "Midnight Train to Georgia," "You're the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me," and "Save the Overtime for Me," recorded over a 15-year span, sound so much of a piece. --Rickey Wright

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Every Beat Of My Heart
  2. Letter Full Of Tears
  3. Giving Up
  4. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
  5. If I Were Your Woman
  6. Friendship Train
  7. I Don't Want To Do Wrong
  8. Daddy Could Swear, I Declare
  9. Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye)
  10. Midnight Train To Georgia
  11. I've Got To Use My Imagination
  12. Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me, The
  13. I Feel A Song (In My Heart)
  14. On And On
  15. The Way We Were / Try To Remember
  16. Save the Overtime (For Me)
  17. Hero (Wind Beneath My Wings)
  18. Love Overboard

More from this collection