Frank Sinatra & Antonio Jobim - Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Frank Sinatra & Antonio Jobim

Frank Sinatra & Antonio Jobim - Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim

Regular price $23.98

Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim  

By   Frank Sinatra & Antonio Jobim      

 Good + Condition. (CD and jewel case are in very good condition. Artwork has a slight fold. )

By 1967, bossa nova had become quite popular within jazz and traditional pop audiences, yet Frank Sinatra hadn't attempted any Brazil-influenced material. Sinatra decided to record a full-fledged bossa nova album with the genre's leading composer, Antonio Carlos Jobim. Arranged by Claus Oberman and featuring Jobim on guitar and backing vocals, Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim concentrated on Jobim's originals, adding three American classics -- "Baubles, Bangles and Beads," "Change Partners," and "I Concentrate on You" -- that were rearranged to suit bossa nova conventions. The result was a subdued, quiet album that used the Latin rhythms as a foundation, not as a focal point. Supported by a relaxed, sympathetic arrangement of muted brass, simmering percussion, soft strings, and Jobim's lilting guitar, Sinatra turns in an especially noteworthy performance; he has never sounded so subtle, underplaying every line he delivers and showcasing vocal techniques that he never had displayed before. Francis Albert Sinatra & Antonio Carlos Jobim doesn't reveal its pleasures immediately; the album is too textured and understated to be fully appreciated within one listen. After a few plays, the album begins to slowly work its way underneath a listener's skin, and it emerges as one of his most rewarding albums of the '60s.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Girl from Ipanema
  2. Dindi
  3. Change Partners
  4. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars
  5. Meditation
  6. If You Never Come to Me
  7. How Insensitive
  8. I Concentrate on You
  9. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
  10. Once I Loved
  11. Sinatra-Jobim Medley (Live): Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars/Change Partners/I Concentrate On You/The Girl From Ipanema (from A Man And His Music + Ella + Jobim)
  12. The Girl From Ipanema (previously unreleased studio session, January 31, 1967)

More from this collection