Carmen Lundy

Carmen Lundy - Good Morning Kiss (Remastered)

Regular price $23.98

Good Morning Kiss (Remastered)  

By Carmen Lundy

Very Good ++ Condition  

Carmen Lundy's debut album was so strong that it's surprising a follow-up was not released domestically for another six years. This excellent effort for the soon-defunct Black Hawk label uses a variety of personnel, including several horn players (trumpeters Jon Faddis, Cecil Bridgewater and/or Earl Gardner, trombonist Steve Turre and altoist Bobby Watson, who provided the arrangements) on four of the eight selections; the other numbers showcase Lundy with a rhythm section including keyboardist Harry Whitaker. Lundy (who puts the right amount of feeling into "Love for Sale") has both a flexible range and the ability to sing beautiful low notes. She is also a talented composer, as she shows by contributing five of the eight songs. Well worth searching for.

Editorial Reviews

Remastered version of Carmen's 1985 debut album featuring bonus alternate takes of DindiPerfect Stranger and Good Morning Kiss. Personnel: Carmen Lundy - vocals, Harry Whitaker - piano, Curtis Lundy or Ben Brown - bass, Victor Lewis - drums, Mayra Casales - percussion, Bobby Watson - alto sax, Rene McLean - tenor sax, Steve Turre - trombone, Jon Faddis and Earl Gardner - trumpet.


1          Time Is Love   2:41

2          Dindi   5:53

3          The Lamp Is Low       8:02

4          Perfect Stranger          3:26

5          Good Morning Kiss    5:39

6          Show Me That You Love Me 4:08

7          Love For Sale  6:43

8          Quiet Times     3:38

9          Dindi (Alternate Take)            5:51

10        Perfect Stranger (Alternate Take)       3:05

11        Good Morning Kiss (Alternate Take) 5:35


More from this collection