Ginny Simms - Gorgeous Ginny Simms-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Ginny Simmons

Ginny Simms - Gorgeous Ginny Simms

Regular price $23.98

Gorgeous Ginny Simms

Very + Good Condition. (Includes Cd, jewel case, and original artwork inserts, all in very good condition.)

And gorgeous she was -- Ginny Simms had the looks to make it in movies, and the pipes to earn herself a recording career in her own right, even as she was a regular with Kay Kyser's band. Sad to say, this ten-song budget CD is the only legitimate CD out covering her classic sides -- some of it is credited to "Ginny Simms and Her Orchestra" (essentially a Kyser band session with Simms fronting), other tracks conducted by Edgar Fairchild, Nat Brandywine, and future film music composer George Duning. Her singing is affectingly bluesy on numbers like Vernon Duke and Ira Gershwin's "I Can't Get Started," then sweetly poppish on the Freed-Warren "This Heart of Mine" (from Ziegfeld Follies). Simms had a darkly emotive voice that worked best without accompaniment -- thus, "Suddenly It's Spring," backed with a choir, doesn't really come off, but "What Goes Up Must Come Down" and her cover of "I'll Never Smile Again," solo vocal pieces, are splendid. The mastering of this 60-year-old material is better than decent, generally quiet and with good resolution and detail, right down to the guitarist in the band.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Smilin' Through
  2. I Can't Get Started
  3. This Heart Of Mine
  4. The Starlit Hour
  5. Suddenly It's Spring
  6. What Goes Up Must Come Down (And Baby, You've Been Flyin' Too High)
  7. I'll Never Smile Again
  8. Till The End Of Time
  9. Kiss The Boys Goodbye
  10. Walkin' By The River

More from this collection