Kathy Chiavola - Harvest-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Kathy Chiavola

Kathy Chiavola - Harvest

Regular price $38.98


by Kathy Chiavola [

Good Condition (SIGNED and inscribed to the previous owner by Kathy Chiavola. Front insert has a discoloration that does not affect readability. Cd and jewel case are in very good condition.)

"Only superlatives can describe this stunning album. Wonderfully sung, superbly played, but, more importantly, constructed with care and not constrained within the bluegrass straitjacket. Explodes another theory-no one sings a John Hiatt song better than John Hiatt. Should be compulsory listening for anyone about to record an acoustic album."

~ John Atkins, Critics Choice Favourite albums of 1996, Country Music People

 "Her new self-produced album...is as passionate as it is virtuosic. More than just a terrific album, The Harvest is testimony to Chiavola's musical vision and to the esteem of her friends and peers."

~ The Nashville Scene

 "Chiavola is simply a highly talented bluegrass-style performer who possesses a golden ear for great songs plus the sterling voice and delivery needed to do them justice."

~ Bluegrass Unlimited

 "Anyone with an interest in acoustic music, whether it be bluegrass, singer-songwriters or simply superlative musicianship should head out and buy this album right away....The highest of this album's high spots is Kathy's arrangement of John Hiatt's Thirty Years of Tears. It's stunning, even better than Hiatt's version, and I can give no more praise than that."

~ Country Music People

 "The voice is back....one of the best releases of '96...Kathy Chiavola has once again, if that's possible, surprised many of the critics in country music with her breathtaking and stunning vocal presentation on the new album."

~ The New Country Music Gazette

 "This is by far the best release this year."

~ Bradford Telegraph & Argus

 "a follow up of the highest order......one of the most beautiful voices around. Her poise and total command of the material echoing class at every turn."

~ Country Music Roundup

 "Such an intimate album. THE HARVEST takes us to the listening room of the heart where Kathy sings the whole "Big Picture" of Love's lifetime." This album is a personal pilgrimage through hope and desire, daring, dread and faith. The music is rich, delivery impeccable, instrumentals dazzling, song selection superb, and the harmonie's provided by a who;s who of country and bluegrass in the nineties. THE HARVEST is not an option, but a musical must."

~ Cecelia Tichi, author of High Lonesome: The American Culture of Country Music


  1. Won't Be Long (J. Leslie McFarland)
  2. Baby Blue Eyes (Jim Eanes)
  3. Shenandoah Valley Waltz (Clyde Moody & Chubby Wise)
  4. Will You Love Me Still (Kathy Chiavola & Elizabeth Hill)
  5. Stay Away From Me (Bill Monroe)
  6. The Big Picture (Kathy Chiavola & Stephanie Brown)
  7. Thirty Years of Tears (John Hiatt)
  8. No End of Love (John Hartford)
  9. Dance (Bob Lucas)
  10. One Hundred Miles (Chris While)
  11. I Am A Pilgrim (Trad/arr. Kathy Chiavola)
  12. Pilgrims on the Way (Marcus Hummon)
  13. The Harvest (Peter Rowan)

More from this collection