Jonah Jones - I Dig Jonah!-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Jonah Jones

Jonah Jones - I Dig Jonah!

Regular price $23.98

I Dig Jonah! The Jonah Jones Capitol Collection

By Jonah Jones

 Very Good Condition. (Includes Cd, jewel case and original artwork.)

About the artist:

Jonah Jones (born Robert Elliott Jones; December 31, 1909 – April 29, 2000) was a jazz trumpeter who created concise versions of jazz and swing and jazz standards that appealed to a mass audience. In the jazz community, he is known for his work with Stuff Smith. He was sometimes referred to as "King Louis II," a reference to Louis Armstrong. Jones started playing alto saxophone at the age of 12 in the Booker T. Washington Community Center band in Louisville, Kentucky, before quickly transitioning to trumpet, where he excelled.

A Review:

One of the finest boogie-jazz trumpeters of all time, Jonah Jones (born Robert Jones in 1909) gives 25 of his greatest performances here, injecting some much needed swing into several old standards that were previously made during times when most music was slower than a snail. Perhaps the best song, however is his own co-composition "A Touch Of Blue", an otherwise instrumental song that glides along a "doot-doot-doot-doot-doot" vocal background that is reminicient of ensembles such as the Ray Conniff Singers or The Spitfire Band.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. On The Street Where You Live
  2. You're Just In Love
  3. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  4. Tangerine
  5. Get Me To The Church On Time
  6. I Can't Get Started
  7. Baubles, Bangles And Beads
  8. No Moon At All
  9. Moten Swing
  10. St. James Infirmary
  11. Lullaby Of Broadway
  12. Night Train
  13. I Dig Chicks!
  14. Put On A Happy Face
  15. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
  16. Dansero
  17. South Of The Border (Down Mexico Way)
  18. Around The World
  19. It's A Blue World
  20. Pennies From Heaven
  21. More Than You Know
  22. A Touch Of Blue
  23. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  24. Lazy River
  25. Memories Are Made Of This

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 8, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Collector's Choice
  • ASIN: B00003W0XR

More from this collection