Frances Langford - I'm in the Mood for Love-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Frances Langford

Frances Langford - I'm in the Mood for Love

Regular price $23.98

I'm in the Mood for Love  

By: Frances Langford

Very Good Condition

A Review:

I'm not going to carp about the sound quality. We are so used to 12 speaker stereo booming into our very souls that anything less is unacceptable. The songs on this disc are from the 78rpm era and they sound like it. It also captures an era long gone when music was for sophisticated mature adults. With lyrics that are catchy and say something. Even the novelty songs have a certain grown up flair. Ok so maybe "Mairzy Doats" doesnt qualify but most of the music had a sophistication that is certainley missing today. Anyway Frances Langford not only had the look of an angel but the voice of an angel. Moonglow, So Many Memories,At Last show off her uncanny ability to use 'mezza voce' to caress the melodic line like no other singer. She makes even material that is less than first rate unforgettable. Her tone is so rich, so pure that not even the scratchy surface noises can dim her luster. This is a voice for the ages, for anyone who is captivated by hauntingly beautiful sound and full command of her art. For those of you that have never heard 'Blue Moon' except by the Marcels or whoever they were, listen to what it should sound like as done by Frances Langford. I highly recommend this CD and all of her others. A voice like this will never come along again.


Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I'm In The Mood For Love
  2. I Feel A Song Coming On
  3. Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  4. Easy To Love
  5. Rap Tap On Wood
  6. Swingin' The Jinx Away
  7. Was It Rain?
  8. So Many Memories
  9. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  10. Please Be Kind
  11. At Long Last Love
  12. I Won't Tell A Soul
  13. Gipsy Love Song
  14. Get Out Of Town
  15. Falling In Love With Love
  16. Moonglow
  17. Blue Moon
  18. When You Wish Upon A Star
  19. In The Cool Of The Evening
  20. In Waikiki
  21. Tropical Magic
  22. Serenade In Blue
  23. Why Do I Love You?
  24. At Last

Product details

  • Audio CD (August 19, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: ASV / Living Era
  • ASIN: B000001HK1

More from this collection