Jane Froman - Jane Froman On Capitol-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Jane Froman

Jane Froman - Jane Froman On Capitol

Regular price $23.98

Jane Froman On Capitol

By Jane Froman

Very Good Condition

A Review:

Jane first emerged in the thirties but she was lucky to survive a plane crash in 1943. She became the subject of a movie (With a song in my heart) that was sufficiently popular to re-awaken interest in her music. Thus, already in her mid-forties, Jane signed for Capitol in 1952 and it is from her subsequent recordings that this collection was put together. Jane had trained as an opera singer and some of that training shows in her singing style - not a full-blown operatic style, but the influence is clear. Jane's beliefs show in the last few tracks here - all gospel songs.
Jane is one of those singers for whom the books of charted hits hide their popularity. Jane had very few American hits (none in the UK) and none of them made the top ten, although she came close with I'll walk alone and I believe. It really doesn't matter - if you like her voice and style, you'll enjoy her versions of Bewitched, I'll walk alone, With a song in my heart, More than you know, I believe, My shining hour, Suddenly there's a valley, It is no secret, You'll never walk alone and other great songs.
I confess that the first time I played this I wasn't sure about Jane - but I like this album more each time I play it.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Bewitched
  2. I'll Walk Alone
  3. With A Song In My Heart
  4. Can't Get out Of This Mood
  5. Wish You Were Here
  6. More Than You Know
  7. Stay Where You Are
  8. I Believe
  9. The Ghost Of A Rose
  10. My Shining Hour
  11. The Song From Desiree (We Meet Again)
  12. The Finger Of Suspicion Points At You
  13. I'll Never Be The Same
  14. Suddenly There's A Valley
  15. It Takes Time (Lots And Lots of Time)
  16. It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
  17. One Little Candle
  18. Somebody Bigger Than You And I
  19. He
  20. You'll Never Walk Alone

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 21, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Collector's Choice Music
  • ASIN: B00000395X

More from this collection