Orioles - Jubilee Jive: Rockin With the Orioles

Regular price $23.98

Jubilee Jive: Rockin With the Orioles

By  The Orioles

Very Good Condition

The music receives an A but the concept a C on Jubilee Jive: Rockin' With the Orioles, a flawed thematic compilation of the Orioles' Jubilee recordings from the late '40s and early '50s. The idea was to focus on the Orioles' jump tunes, a largely unexplored side of the group since they're known for their R&B ballads. The fact is, R&B ballads comprise the vast majority of what they recorded, so there really aren't enough jump tunes to fill a disc. The liner notes to Jubilee Jive acknowledge this and describe the slow songs that fill out the package as "power ballads," whatever that means, but even the up-tempo cuts are typically very mild-mannered. None of the group's hits is included, but there are many interesting cuts like the Orioles' version of Jo Stafford's "Shrimp Boats" and a performance of the gospel song "Yes Indeed" with Moms Mabley on lead vocals. All of the material on Jubilee Jive also appears on the Bear Family box set The Jubilee Recordings.


  1. I May Be Wrong
  2. It Ain't Gonna Be Like That
  3. I Cross My Fingers
  4. Shrimp Boats
  5. Baby I Love You So
  6. Don't Stop
  7. Sitting Here
  8. I'm Just A Fool In Love
  9. Along About Sundown
  10. Yes Indeed
  11. There's No One But You
  12. Hold Me, Squeeze Me
  13. Wanted
  14. Don't Cry Baby
  15. Happy Go Lucky Local
  16. Longing
  17. Once Upon A Time
  18. My Baby's Gonna Get It
  19. Good Looking Baby
  20. So Much
  21. How Blind Can You Be
  22. Don't Keep It To Yourself
  23. My Loved One
  24. Bring That Money Hone
  25. Waiting
  26. See See Rider
  27. I Miss You So
  28. Baby Please Don't Go
  29. Barbra Lee

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 24, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Sequel Records UK
  • ASIN: B000000PT5

More from this collection