Kiri Te Kanawa - Danny Boy-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Kiri Te Kanawa

Kiri Te Kanawa - Danny Boy

Regular price $31.98

Danny Boy

By  Kiri Te Kanawa 

Very Good Condition

A Review:

Singing a collection of folk songs and ballads of Great Britain, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa puts her glorious soprano to interpreting these simple favorites. As a result, an astonishing recording has emerged for those who favor folk songs. Simply arranged and accompanied by members of the National Philharmonic Orchestra, as well as by the Medici String Quartet, the songs resonate with the mark of Dame Kanawa upon them, making them more memorable than ever.

The use of a small orchestra and the prominence of the harp is most effective, rendering the accompaniment an appropriate backdrop for the most important instrument of all in this recording, the magnificent voice of Dame Kanawa. There are fifteen glorious tracks on this cd that are sure to delight the discerning listener, particularly those who are attuned to the folk tradition in music. My particular favorites are "Early One Morning", "Annie Laurie", "Greensleeves", and "Danny Boy".


1     Come to the Fair     3:01

2     Early One Morning     2:23

3     Irish Folksong / The Last Rose the Summer     3:32

4     An Island Spinning Song     2:41

5     The Ash Grove     2:55

6     She Is Far From the Land     4:41

7     The Keel Row     1:44

8     Comin' Thro' the Rye     1:40

9     Annie Laurie     4:04

10   O Can Ye Sew Cushions?     2:11

11   Greensleeves     3:36

12   The Sally Gardens     2:32

13   The Gentle Maiden     2:59

14   I Have a Bonnet Trimmed With Blue     1:06

15   Danny Boy      4:34

Product details

More from this collection