Mel Torme - Right Now-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Mel Torme

Mel Torme - Right Now

Regular price $23.98

Right Now

By Mel Torme

Very Good Condition

A Review:

If you're a serious jazz fan looking for the high art projects of Mel Torme, then look elsewhere (and stay away from me in general because I find you people are collossal bores!) But if you dig the loungier sounds then this groovy record is for you. Basically, Mel does the 1960's pop charts on this one, with Burt Bacharach being represented more than any other composer. And while Torme himself and jazz purists didn't care for this one, the "rest of us" will find the skilled interpretations of this material to be ear candy of the highest order. The singing is top notch (you'd expect anything less?) and the arrangements aren't irritating like so many e-z covers of rock material. As for the songs, you know them all, and will be plesantly surprised at the fresh approach Mel brings to admittedly sub-par material (and Mel would record far more inappropriate material before it was all over, so that shouldn't bother you.) In short, Mel can't help but make a great record!

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Comin' Home Baby
  2. Homeward Bound
  3. My Little Red Book
  4. Walk On By
  5. If I Had A Hammer
  6. Strangers In The Night
  7. Better Use Your Head
  8. Time
  9. Secret Agent Man
  10. Pretty Flamingo
  11. Red Rubber Ball
  12. All That Jazz
  13. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
  14. Domique's Discotheque
  15. The Power Of Love
  16. Lover's Roulette
  17. Ciao Baby
  18. Molly Marlene
  19. The King
  20. Lima Lady
  21. Wait Until Dark
  22. Only When I'm Lonely

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 29, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B000002AHK

More from this collection