Michael Buble - It's Time-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Michael Buble

Michael Buble - It's Time

Regular price $23.98

It's Time

By  Michael Buble

Very Good Condition

Michael Bublé's assured debut and the tireless year of globe-trotting touring he spent promoting it elevated the 20-something Vancouver native into the first rank of pop crooner revivalists. His sophomore studio follow-up largely turns on the same formula that helped make his considerable vocal prowess so attractive to mainstream audiences, mixing the nigh flawless, if expected Sinatra-channeling ("I've Got You Under My Skin") with more playful and inviting renditions of pop standards like the Gershwin's "A Foggy Day in London Town," "Feeling Good," "Try A Little Tenderness" and Cole Porter's "I've Got You Under My Skin." But it's the eclectic mix of more contemporary material the singer seasons them with -- apt tribute to Bublé hero Bobby Darin -- that keeps him walking the narrow tightrope between artistic intrigue (a blues-tinged vamp of Holland-Dozier-Holland's "How Sweet It Is," Leon Russell's lovely "Song For You," with a guest turn by Chris Botti) and the kitsch-laden abyss ("Quando, Quando, Quando"'s Euro-centric duet with Nelly Furtado, a ring-a-ding-fling with the Beatles' "Can't Buy Me Love" that echoes fellow Canadian crooner/rival Matt Dusk's more successful flirtation with Lennon-McCartney). Arranger/producer Tommy LiPuma offers Bublé a welcome swinging jazz showcase on "The More I See of You," a bracing respite from the rest of producer David Foster's slick, if typically bloodless MOR production. -- Jerry McCulley

A Review:

This is the best of his first 3 CD's. Every cut is outstanding. Every song digs in and resonates deep in the mind, heart and soul. When I was a teenager in high school, my guilty secret was that I prefered listening to Barbra Streisand to listening to the Beach Boys, Beatles, Rolling Stones, Motown and Aretha Franklin and all the other musical geniuses that were busting out and climbing the charts. She had a way with love songs that made me want to sing them to all the boys I had a crush on. Now I listen to Michael and I want to get dressed up with dancing shoes, "baubles, bangles and beads" and dance the night away with my honey buns in a romantic dance club. Some of the reviewers can pick out a stand out song, I can't. The whole CD is so good, so full of wonderful songs and Micheal's incredible interpretations that I cannot say anything but enjoy, enjoy and shake your bootie to Michael Buble :)


1 Feeling Good
Programmed By [Programming], Sound Designer [Sound Design] – Jochem Van Der Saag Written-By – Anthony NewleyLeslie Bricusse
2 A Foggy Day (In London Town)
Written-By – George & Ira Gershwin
3 You Don't Know Me
Guitar, Soloist – Brian Green (17) Written-By – Cindy WalkerEddie Arnold*
4 Quando, Quando, Quando
Arranged By [Strings] – Jorge Calandrelli Featuring [Duet With] – Nelly Furtado Lyrics By [English] – Pat Boone Lyrics By [Original] – Alberto TestaMusic By – Tony Renis Saxophone [Sax], Flute – Dan Higgins
5 Home
Backing Vocals [Background Vocals] – Debbie TimussGuitar, Soloist – Brian Green (17) Programmed By [Programming], Sound Designer [Sound Design] – Jochem Van Der Saag Written-By – Alan ChangAmy Foster-Gillies*, Michael Bublé
6 Can't Buy Me Love
Programmed By [Programming], Sound Designer [Sound Design], Organ – Jochem Van Der Saag Written-By – John Lennon/Paul McCartney*
7 The More I See You
Alto Saxophone – Keith Fiddmont Alto Saxophone [Lead] – Jeff Clayton (3)Baritone Saxophone – Lee Callet Bass Trombone – Bill Reichenbach (2)Contractor – Shari Sutcliffe Engineer [Assistant] – Andy BrohardBruce MonicalWil Donovan Engineer [Pro Tools] – Steve Genewick Tenor Saxophone – Charles OwensRickey Woodard Tenor Saxophone [Solo] – Rickey Woodard Trombone – George Bohanan*, Ira NepusRyan Porter Trumpet – Bijon WatsonGilbert Castillanos*, Kye PalmerSal Cracchiolo Written-By – Harry Warren (2)Mack Gordon
8 Save The Last Dance For Me
Acoustic Guitar – Brandon Jenner Electric Guitar – Michael Thompson Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Jorge Vivo Programmed By [Programming, Sound Designer [Sound Design] – Jochem Van Der Saag Written-By – Frank MaginePhil SpitalnyWalter Hirsch
9 Try A Little Tenderness
Acoustic Guitar – Brian Green (17) Electric Guitar – Dean ParksWritten-By – Harry Woods (2)James CampbellReginald Connelly
10 How Sweet It Is
Programmed By [Programming, Sound Designer [Sound Design], Organ, Harmonica – Jochem Van Der Saag Written-By – Lamont Dozier/Brian Holland/Eddie Holland*
11 Song For You
Featuring, Trumpet [Solo] – Chris Botti Written-By – Leon Russell
12 I've Got You Under My Skin
Orchestrated By – Sammy Nestico Written-By – Cole Porter
13 You And I
Written-By – Stevie Wonder

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 8, 2005)
  • Original Release Date: February 8, 2005
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Reprise Records
  • ASIN: B00070Q7VO



More from this collection