Patti Page - Patti Page The Mercury Years Vol. I-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Patti Page

Patti Page - Patti Page The Mercury Years Vol. I

Regular price $23.98

The Mercury Years Vol. I

By  Patti Page

Very Good Condition

In 1947 Patti Page was an obscure singer from Oklahoma with ten recordings behind her that nobody listened to. Her manager, Jack Rael, suggested that she be assigned a song that Mercury Records had planned to give to Vic Damone, "Confess," a song that was composed with parts for a duet. With a low budget that would not allow Mercury to hire a second singer, Rael persuaded the company to record Patti in both parts, the first example of "overdubbing." The unusual effect turned Patti Page into a big success. Her #12 charting "Confess" was followed by her first four-part recording, "With My Eyes Wide Open I'm Dreaming," her first #1 charting song, "All My Love," and her biggest hit (and one of the biggest selling records of all time), "The Tennessee Waltz." This CD features all four of these and 16 other Patti Page hits, representing the best part of her large list of hits for Mercury: songs she did up to 1953. A second volume has been produced containing songs of the next few years, but the biggest milestones of her career, the four songs mentioned in this paragraph, are in this collection. It is clearly the most important collection of this great artist's work.

There is a similar CD issued by ASV called "All My Love," named after her first #1 song, which duplicates much of the material on here. If you have one, you don't need the other, All the biggest hits on that one are on this one and vice versa; the reason I prefer this collection is that the songs on this one are arranged chronologically. But the bottom line is, if there is one particular song you want that is not on one of the two, or if the price makes a difference, let that guide your decision; the two are about equivalent.


1 Confess 2:46
2 With My Eyes Wide Open I'm Dreaming 3:09
3 I Don't Care If The Sun Don't Shine 2:41
4 All My Love 3:13
5 Back In Your Own Backyard 2:26
6 The Tennessee Waltz 3:02
7 Would I Love You (Love You, Love You) 2:56
8 Mockin' Bird Hill 2:56
9 Down The Trail Of Achin' Hearts 2:52
10 Evertrue Evermore 2:31
11 Mister And Mississippi 3:08
12 Detour 2:45
13 And So To Sleep Again 2:54
14 Come What May 2:09
15 Whispering Winds 2:45
16 Once In A While 2:45
17 I Went To Your Wedding 3:14
18 You Belong To Me 2:47
19 Why Don't You Believe Me 2:44
20 Conquest 2:27

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 24, 1995)
  • Original Release Date: 1991
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Mercury/ Polygram Records
  • ASIN: B000001DTO

More from this collection