Peggy Lee - A Spotlight On Peggy Lee-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Peggy Lee

Peggy Lee - A Spotlight On Peggy Lee

Regular price $23.98

A Spotlight On Peggy Lee  (Great Ladies Of Song)

By Peggy Lee

Very Good Condition

A Review:

What can be said about Peggy Lee which has not already been said. I grew up listening to Peggy Lee's sultry voice filling my mother's kitchen as she prepared meals on lazy summer afternoons. She was of favourite of my mother and father and a favourite of the times (1950's). I have only recently began investigating the music of Peggy Lee as an adult. How I have overlooked her all of these interim years I will never know. What I do know is that I have reconnected with a bit of heaven on earth and I am very grateful for it. I have purchased many of her discs recently and this is by far the best! First of all, the sonics are, simply, outstanding. A tight, full bottom end complimented by an extremely rich and smooth mid-range which makes the horns sound absolutely marvellous not to mention providing a great timbre and silkiness to Peggy's voice. The top end is charterized by a great openess which gives the sound a great sense of presence. My hat is, certainly, off to the engineer responsible for this sonic gift. In addition, all of her great tunes are here (not surprisingly). However, what really makes these tunes work so outstandingly well is the song sequencing ...... an aspect to disc creation which is generally overlooked by those responsible. The tunes unfold into one another so well creating a fanastic voyage through love's longings and it's shortcomings leaving one emotionally charged and exhausted all at the same time. If you love Peggy or you just love love's range of emotions you must have this disc.


1 I've Got The World On A String 2:21
2 When A Woman Loves A Man 2:46
3 I'm Beginning To See The Light 1:47
4 There Is No Greater Love 3:37
5 Too Close For Comfort 2:22
6 Unforgettable 2:28
7 Close Your Eyes 2:18
8 If I Should Lose You 2:23
9 I'm Just Wild About Harry 2:07
10 Deep Purple 2:58
11 It's Been A Long, Long Time 2:20
12 The Man I Love 3:44
13 The Best Is Yet To Come 3:21
14 Come Rain Or Come Shine 2:37
15 Fever 3:22
16 I Wanna Be Around 2:28
17 I Hear Music 2:08
18 The Folks Who Live On The Hill 3:36

Product details

  • Original Release Date: September 20, 2010
  • Release Date: July 7, 2018
  • Label: Capitol Records
  • Copyright: ℗ This Compilation 1995 Capitol Catalog © 1995 Capitol Records Inc.
  • Total Length: 48:43
  • Genres:Pop

More from this collection