Peggy Lee - The Jazz Collection-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Peggy Lee

Peggy Lee - The Jazz Collection

Regular price $23.98

The Jazz Collection

By   Peggy Lee With The Dave Barbour Band

Very Good Condition

In the late '40s, Peggy Lee launched a successful solo singing career on records and radio without doing much in the way of live performing. As a part of that, she made a lot of transcriptions for radio play, backed by a small jazz band led by her guitarist-husband Dave Barbour. This budget compilation contains 14 of the "MacGregor" transcriptions, on which Lee addresses standards like "I Should Care," "September In The Rain," and "Nice Work If You Can Get It," with generous soloing space given to the band.

A Review:

Being a big fan of Peggy Lee, I found this collection to be wonderful. Of course her well known studio albums are fantastic, but there's a certain magic in finding these uncommon CDs that nobody talks about. I actually think some of her best work comes from radio transcriptions like the ones on this CD. Audio quality is good, but nothing to brag about. There are minor audio problems throughout but nothing too bad, considering these recordings are well over 60 years old. This jazzy collection is one of my absolute favorites and I highly recommend it to any fan of Peggy or just jazz in general


1 You Can Depend On Me 1:26
2 I've Had My Moments 2:58
3 Sugar 2:36
4 I Should Care 3:39
5 Someday Sweetheart 2:13
6 September In The Rain 3:08
7 That Old Gang Of Mine 2:35
8 Nice Work If You Can Get It 2:19
9 I'm Beginning To See The Light 2:35
10 Gone With The Wind 1:56
11 Don't Blame Me 2:45
12 Baby, Won't You Please Come Home 1:51
13 My Last Affair 2:49
14 I'm Confessin' 2:37

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Collector's Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: LaserLight Digital / Delta
  • ASIN: B000HDAR12

More from this collection