Mildred Bailey - Rockin' Chair-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Mildred Bailey

Mildred Bailey - Rockin' Chair

Regular price $23.98

Rockin' Chair  (The Legendary V-Disc Series)

By Mildred Bailey

Very Good Condition

Mildred Bailey sings 28 tracks, featuring The Rhythm Boys, Red Norvo's Band, Teddy Wilson, Benny Goodman's All-Stars, Paul Baron and his Orchestra, The Ellis Larkins Trio and Carmen Mastren and his Orchestra.

About The Artist:

Mildred Bailey (born Mildred Rinker; February 27, 1907 – December 12, 1951) was a Native American jazz singer during the 1930s, known as "The Queen of Swing", "The Rockin' Chair Lady" and "Mrs. Swing". Some of her best-known hits are "It's So Peaceful in the Country", "Trust in Me", "Where Are You?", "I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart", "Small Fry", "Please Be Kind", "Darn That Dream", "Rockin' Chair", "Blame It on My Last Affair", and "Says My Heart". She had three singles that made number one on the popular charts.

She grew up on the Coeur d'Alene Reservation in Idaho, where her mother was an enrolled member. The family moved to Spokane, Washington when she was 13. Her younger brothers also became musicians, with her brother Al Rinker starting to perform as a singer with Bing Crosby in Spokane and eventually becoming famous as a member of The Rhythm Boys. Charles Rinker became a lyricist, and Miles Rinker was a clarinet and saxophone player who later became a booking agent

Track Listing:

1 Theme: Rockin' Chair [And Opening Announcement] Carmichael 1:06
2 There'll Be Some Changes Made Higgins, Overstreet 2:05
3 It All Comes Back to Me Now Kramer, Whitney, Zaret 2:51
4 Give Me Some Skin Hampton, Parham 2:43
5 Georgia on My Mind Carmichael, Gorrell 3:55
6 Bugle Woogie Gearhart 2:59
7 Closing Theme and Announcement Bailey, Wilson :53
8 Rockin' Chair Carmichael 4:37
9 Sunday, Monday or Always Burke, VanHeusen 3:53
10 Scrap Your Fat Burke 4:28
11 More Than You Know Eliscu, Rose, Youmans 3:10
12 Someday, Sweetheart Spikes, Spikes 3:48
13 Downhearted Blues Austin, Hunter :22
14 Downhearted Blues Austin, Hunter :13
15 Downhearted Blues [Master Take] Austin, Hunter 5:11
16 Hold On [Breakdown One] Johnson, Johnson 1:23
17 Hold On [Breakdown Two] Johnson, Johnson :49
18 Hold On [Complete Take] Johnson, Johnson 2:54
19 There'll Be a Jubilee Moore 3:10
20 Summertime Gershwin, Gershwin, Heyward 2:58
21 Right as the Rain Arlen, Harburg 3:36
22 Together Brown, DeSylva, Henderson 2:57
23 Evelina Arlen, Harburg 2:37
24 From the Land of the Sky Blue Water Cadman, Eberhart 2:32
25 I'll Close My Eyes Kaye, Reid 3:12
26 That Ain't Right Cole, Mills 3:14
27 Lover, Come Back to Me Hammerstein, Romberg 2:53
28 It's So Peaceful in the Country Wilder 2:32

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: VJC
  • ASIN: B000OH00LI

More from this collection