Matt Dennis - She Dances Overhead-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Matt Dennis

Matt Dennis - She Dances Overhead

Regular price $26.98

She Dances Overhead

By Matt Dennis

Very Good Condition

Matt Dennis is remembered more for the songs he composed than for his career as a singer. Tunes such as "Everything Happens to Me," "Let's Get Away From It All," and "Angel Eyes" are evergreens whose place in the Great American Songbook is well established. But he was an entertainer as well, playing pianist for some of the top singers of the 1940s and 1950s, including Margaret Whiting and Martha Tilton. Dennis also made four albums for RCA Victor during this period. On this particular one, he plays piano and sings as he pays tribute to one of the most successful songsmith teams in popular music history, Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart. Joined by a sterling group of studio musicians under the leadership of Harry Geller, Dennis treads his way through 12 of the team's best-known songs, most of which are from the musical stage. The ballads, such as "Dancing on the Ceiling," have lush arrangements made more luxuriant by strings. The swingers, such as "Mimi," are done with brass alone and often feature a short solo by one of the horn players. While this recording is not a momentous musical occasion, Dennis does have a pleasing way with tunes, given his understated style and very professional manner.

A Review:

This album has been around a long time and it one of the best collection of pop singles ever. Also Matt Dennis was a master at putting these songs across. If you like songs and music from that era, you'll love Matt Dennis "She Dances Overhead." I love it.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dancing On The Ceiling
  2. Mimi
  3. Dancing On The Ceiling
  4. Blue Moon
  5. Isn’T It Romantic
  6. I Married An Angel
  7. Mountain Greenery
  8. Giver Her A Kiss
  9. Wait ‘Til You See Her
  10. I Didn’T Know What Time It Was
  11. This Funny World
  12. Have You Met Miss Jones

Product details

  • Audio CD (December 8, 2001)
  • Imported ed. edition
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: RCA Fs Imports
  • ASIN: B00005U8IM

More from this collection