Lone Justice - Shelter-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Lone Justice

Lone Justice - Shelter

Regular price $23.98


By Lone Justice

Very Good Condition

Singer Maria McKee, a small woman with a gigantic voice, has always had trouble finding the appropriate backup band and production style--on Lone Justice's second and final album, E Street Band guitarist Little Steven tries to turn her into the female Bruce Springsteen. He's partially successful: on the opening song, "I Found Love," McKee belts like a countrified Aretha Franklin, and each of her five successive "yeahs" sounds more explosive than the next. But while McKee's voice is timeless, the tinkly keyboards and thudding electronic drums make Shelter an '80s period piece. (Guitarist Shane Fontayne, who joined Lone Justice for this album, later performed in Springsteen's post-E Street backup band.) --Steve Knopper

A Review:

Sing to me. I can't get Belfry out of my head. You Lone JustiCe rider. A woman against the world is what this sounds like. Holy Shiite Batman..I think I want to own the world and take up much of the darkness with my love. I wonder if Sarolta has this. It might be good..(Wink..)I love this. The tiny woman with the big guitars and voice and drums and heart. Kind of like a Tom Petty "Southern Plantation" kind of album. Don't come around here no more..Love to those freakin rockers and Maria who saved my lifE tonight if I have a crises! Love..Ahh..Is it a strong enough expression? I wanted to buy a poetry book. But I just wanted inspiration. And here it is.."Inspiration"'s the song that put Maria on aN undeniable sacred place in the hearts of the loving life changers of ths worlD!


1              I Found Love

2              Shelter

3              Reflected (On My Side)

4              Beacon

5              Wheels

6              Belfry

7              Dreams Come True (Stand Up And Take It)

8              The Gift

9              Inspiration

10           Dixie Storms

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 19, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Geffen UK
  • ASIN: B000000OYF

More from this collection