Jerry Vale - Standing Ovation-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Jerry Vale

Jerry Vale - Standing Ovation

Regular price $23.98

Standing Ovation  (At Carnegie Hall)

By Jerry Vale

Very Good Condition

Sony repackaged and re-released three fine Jerry Vale albums and collections -- Standing Ovation, The Italian Album and Essence of Jerry Vale -- as a slip-cased box set. It's not a bad way to acquire the albums if you don't already own them, but there are no bonus tracks or new packaging or remastering, which means it's of marginal interest to hardcore collectors.

A Review:

Jerry had an opera singer's ability to hold a note and finish a song big. The song selection is flawless. I would have liked a bit more audience ambience and patter between songs to get a better sense of this incredibly modest and under-rated singer, but Jerry was apparently all biz -and who can question the instincts of such a great talent?

He kills the crowd at the Frank-level, but owes no stylistic debt to ant other singer on earth.

Weird to see read the other review and learn that in the cd era they didn't put it all on one disc. The record companies deserve extinction for being such lazy pigs.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hey, Look Me Over (From "Wildcat")
  2. Lulu's Back in Town
  3. With a Song in My Heart
  4. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  5. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  6. Medley: 'O Sole Mio (My Sunshine) / Mala Femmina / Mama (Mamma) / Come Back to Sorrento (Torna a Surriento)
  7. I Feel a Song Comin' On
  8. The Song Is You
  9. If I Had You
  10. Granada
  11. I'm Always Chasing Rainbows
  12. Lonesome Road

Product details

  • Audio CD (November 14, 1989)
  • Original Release Date: November 14, 1989
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Live
  • Label: Sony Legacy
  • Run Time: 34 minutes
  • ASIN: B0000024SC

More from this collection