Gertrude Lawrence - Star Quality-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Gertrude Lawrence

Gertrude Lawrence - Star Quality

Regular price $23.98

Star Quality

By  Gertrude Lawrence

Very Good Condition

AEI's Gertrude Lawrence collection Star Quality consists of rare, non-commercial recordings by the stage star, most of which seem to derive from radio transcriptions. They include not only musical performances but also dramatic recitations, such as the five-minute "La Voix Humaine" and "Scene from Private Lives." In the latter, Lawrence performs with an unidentified actor playing the part of her husband, and her other fellow performers also go without credit for the most part throughout the album. (Who are the actors heard in "Joining Charlot's Revue," which seems to be a dramatization of Lawrence's own life?) No l Coward is named as her partner on the comic "Has Anybody Seen Our Ship?," drawn from the Red Peppers section of his play cycle Tonight at 8:30, but he is an exception. The sound quality ranges from good to poor, rarely reaching commercial quality even for vintage recordings. But the album does give a sense of the range of Lawrence's work, from her dramatic efforts to saucy musical numbers like "I Don't Know" and on to her big Broadway musical turns in Lady in the Dark and The King and I. It is not the collection to start with for those interested in the performer, but theater buffs already well acquainted with Lawrence should enjoy it. [The 1998 CD reissue adds nine tracks on which Lawrence sings to piano accompaniment, often with a backup chorus. The material shares the drawbacks of the rest of the collection. "The One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else)" is incorrectly titled "The Hand I Held," and Lawrence's duet partner on "My Blue Heaven" is unidentified. But Cole Porter's "The Physician" from Nymph Errant is one of her signature songs, and its inclusion strengthens the set considerably.] ~ William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Let's All Go Down The Strand
  2. Joining Charlot's Revue
  3. Limehouse Blues
  4. I Don't Know
  5. Do-Do-Do
  6. A Cup Of Coffee, A Sandwich And You
  7. Scene From Private Lives
  8. Has Anybody Seen Our Ship?
  9. Miss Bent Bows
  10. A Pretty Girl Is Like A Melody
  11. The Hand I Held
  12. They Didn't Believe Me
  13. We're On Our Way
  14. April Showers
  15. Just A Slip
  16. My Blue Heaven
  17. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  18. I Dream Of Jeannie
  19. The Physician
  20. The Saga Of Jenny
  21. My Ship
  22. Daddy
  23. La Voix Humaine
  24. I Whistle A Happy Tune
  25. Getting To Know You

Product details

  • Audio CD (July 12, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Aei
  • ASIN: B00000DG0F

More from this collection