Steve Lawrence - Steve Lawrence Sings Sinatra-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Steve Lawrence

Steve Lawrence - Steve Lawrence Sings Sinatra

Regular price $23.98

Steve Lawrence Sings Sinatra

By  Steve Lawrence

Very Good Condition

A Review:

Okay, first things first: Steve Lawrence is a very good singer. His voice is as strong and sure as ever. (On the edge of being cruel, I must say that I always liked him better without his wife sharing the microphone.) Actually, Steve has a better voice than Sinatra had. He also swings better. Frank tended to throw in "Sinatra-isms" in lieu of actual swinging. The arrangements (by whatever means Steve acquired them) are all top-notch, and hearing them with the current musicians is a treat. Some of the originals were in mono. It's nice to hear them in stereo and in excellent sound. Of course, you lose things, like the absolutely perfect trombone solo in Frank's recording of "I've Got You Under My Skin." Many trombonists have tried to copy this over the years, as in Frank's live performances of the tune, but none has matched the intensity and build of the original. But here comes the "but":

I have to agree with several other customer reviews that bemoan the fact that Steve merely tried to copy the originals, instead of having his own charts done of these songs (as with most other Sinatra tributes). I have been an arranger for many years, and whenever a singer comes to me with a song and says "Copy this recording," I ask, "Why? It's already been done that way. Do it your own way!" (Usually I lose the argument.)

This, after all is said and done, is an enjoyable album, which I've listened to several times since I bought it. But I find it limiting and frustrating. Frank did it his way; now do it yours!

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I've Got You Under My Skin
  2. You Make Me Feel So Young
  3. Come Rain or Come Shine
  4. The Lady Is a Tramp
  5. Summer Wind
  6. Fly Me to the Moon
  7. What Now My Love
  8. Where or When
  9. My Heart Stood Still
  10. The Best Is Yet to Come
  11. For Once in My Life
  12. My Kind of Town
  13. I've Got the World on a String
  14. Angel Eyes

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 28, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Gl Music Co.
  • ASIN: B00007MB5P


More from this collection