Gogi Grant - The Helen Morgan Story:-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Gogi Grant

Gogi Grant - The Helen Morgan Story:

Regular price $31.98

The Helen Morgan Story: An Original Soundtrack Recording

By Gogi Grant

Very Good Condition

As well received as this 1957 biopic was, it was it's soundtrack that achieved the most success, making a splash on the charts and showcasing the beautiful voice of Gogi Grant. She dazzles on April in Paris; Body and Soul; Why Was I Born; Love Nest; the Man I Love; My Melancholy Baby; More Than You Know, and more.

.Gogi Grant provided the vocals for Ann Blyth in the Michael Curtiz movie The Helen Morgan Story, and got this album out of it. It's a great showcase for her as a jazz singer -- she's at her best on numbers like "Someone to Watch Over Me" (worth the price of admission by itself) and less so on the pop music of the period, done in pop style. Ray Heindorf handles the accompaniment in tasteful fashion, and the CD reissue offers state-of-the-art sound.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Why Was I Born
  2. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  3. Medley: If You Were the Only Girl in the World/Avalon/Do Do Do/Breezin'
  4. Love Nest
  5. Medley: Someone to Watch Over Me/The One I Love Belongs to
  6. Body and Soul
  7. April in Paris
  8. Speak of Me of Love
  9. More Than You Know
  10. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  11. Man I Love
  12. Medley: Just a Memory/I Deep Night
  13. Don't Ever Leave Me
  14. Medley: I've Got a Crush on You/I'll Get By
  15. Something to Remember You By
  16. My Melancholy Baby
  17. Bill
  18. Can't Help Lovin' That Man

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 22, 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: ImportSoundtrack
  • Label: Flare UK

More from this collection