Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova

Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova - The Swell Season

Regular price $23.98

The Swell Season

By  Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova

Very Good Condition in original cardboard case

The Swell Season is the self-titled and first album by the duo The Swell Season, (Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová), released in 2006. "Falling Slowly" went on to be nominated for a Grammy and win the Academy Award for Best Original Song in 2008.

A Review:

Frames front man Hansard has teamed up with classically trained Czech vocalist and pianist, Irglova to produce this album of affecting songs and compositions. From straight songs to piano instrumentals, "The Swell Season" affords an insight into a whole other side of Glen/The Frames, as well as offering a perfect introduction to this very talented newcomer. The record takes it's name from author Josef Skvorecky's book of the same name. Set in Nazi occupied Czechoslovakia, the story centers on one man's love of music and his pursuit of unattainable women as a country comes unglued. Like the book, the record deals with the pains and hopes of those struggling to make sense of their lives.

Track listing

  1. "This Low" (Glen Hansard)
  2. "Sleeping" (Glen Hansard)
  3. "Falling Slowly" (Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová)
  4. "Drown Out" (Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová(chorus only))
  5. "Lies" (Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová)
  6. "When Your Mind's Made Up" (Glen Hansard)
  7. "The Swell Season" (Markéta Irglová)
  8. "Leave" (Glen Hansard)
  9. "The Moon" (Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová(chorus only))
  10. "Alone Apart" (Markéta Irglová, Glen Hansard (guitar only) )

Product details

  • Audio CD (August 22, 2006)
  • Original Release Date: August 22, 2006
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B000GH3CVQ

More from this collection