Helen Forrest - Them There Eyes-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery
Helen Forrest

Helen Forrest - Them There Eyes

Regular price $23.98

Them There Eyes

By Helen Forrest

Very Good Condition

20 tracks from the 1930s-40s swing era, featuring Don't Play That Song AgainAin't Misbehavin' & Secret Love.

Helen Forrest was considered one of the top female singers of the swing era, but surprisingly she did not repeat her commercial successes after she went out on her own in 1943. This CD has 20 selections that are of unknown origin but probably taken from radio apperarances and transcriptions during the second half of the '40s. Forrest is joined by a few different orchestras (including ensembles led by Larry Clinton and Sy Oliver), with strings on two numbers and on six selections by the Stars of Swing. The personnel is unknown other than tenor saxophonist Babe Russin, who has a short solo on "Ain't Misbehavin'." But the main focus is on Forrest, who is heard in peak form on such songs as "Ain't Misbehavin'," "Secret Love," "Taking a Chance on Love," "From This Moment On," "You Turned the Tables on Me," and remakes of her earlier hits "I Had the Craziest Dream" and "I Don't Want to Walk Without You." One of the better Helen Forrest CDs currently available.


Disc: 1

  1. Don't Play That Song Again
  2. My Reverie
  3. Ain't Misbehavin'
  4. I Don't Want To Walk Without You
  5. Secret Love
  6. Changing Partners
  7. Taking A Chance On Love
  8. Deep Purple
  9. Them There Eyes
  10. If You Loved Me
  11. From This Moment On
  12. Answer Me My Love
  13. You Turned The Tables On Me
  14. I'm Through With Love
  15. It Worries Me
  16. Falling In Love
  17. Little Things Mean A Lot
  18. I Had The Craziest Dream
  19. Cara Mia
  20. Lover Come Back To Me

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 16, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Mr. Music
  • ASIN: B000006OXQ

More from this collection