Various Artists - Celtic Harpestry-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery

Various Artists - Celtic Harpestry

Regular price $23.98

Celtic Harpestry

By Various Artists

Very Good Condition

The pristine tones and lilting melodies of the Celtic harp are immediately inviting. Celtic Harpestry, a companion to a PBS performance special, explores a sound both traditional and modern in a tasteful and evocative collection. This isn't a purist's album--half of the harpists aren't even from the Celtic isles, and among the album's old Irish chestnuts is "My Heart Will Go On," the love theme from Titanic. The otherwise-joyful Belfast Harp Orchestra tromp through the James Horner tune, almost pulling some subtlety out of its overwrought themes. Turlough O'Carolan, the blind patron saint of the Celtic harp, might wish he were deaf as well, if he could hear it. But the bard would be thrilled to hear the 12-piece BHO playing the traditional "Brian Boru's Set" or one of founder Janet Harbison's zephyrlike originals. Her "Earth, Water, Wind and Fire" elicits shifting textures and colors that belie their traditional roots. The song also exemplifies the ethereal side of the Celtic harp explored on Celtic Harpestry with artists like Rüdiger Oppermann. Playing a wire-strung harp accompanied by bass and keyboards, the German harpist soars through crystalline melodies whether he's playing traditional tunes or originals. The most traditional sound actually comes from the American players. Cheryl Ann Fulton gives a straight-up rendition of "Breton Medley," and jazz harpist Deborah Henson-Conant is refreshingly restrained, faithfully rendering "Londonderry Aire (Danny Boy)" and "The Minstrel Boy." Although Celtic Harpestry focuses on slow airs, there are robust performances here, including those by Máire Ni Chathasaigh's group and the harp and vocal duo of Sileas. Outside of the Titanic love theme, Celtic Harpestry is an elegantly wrought collection. --John Diliberto


1     Bright New Morning          Belfast Harp Orchestra     4:12

2     The Humours of Ballyloughlin     Máire Ní Chathasaigh     2:18

3     The Golden String Hornpipe     Rüdiger Oppermann     2:36

4     A Walk on Belfast     Belfast Harp Orchestra     3:11

5     Star of the County Down     Deborah Henson-Conant     3:07

6     The Old Woman's Dance     Sìleas     2:36

7     My Heart Will Go On (Love Theme From Titanic)     Belfast Harp Orchestra     4:31

8     The Chestnut Tree Medley     Máire Ní Chathasaigh     3:27

9     The Butterfly     Rüdiger Oppermann     3:57

10   Londonderry Aire (Danny Boy)     Deborah Henson-Conant     3:37

11   Seallaibh Curaidh Eoghain     Sìleas     1:41

12   Bretton Medley     Cheryl Ann Fulton     3:37

13   Brian Boru's Set     Belfast Harp Orchestra    4:02

14   Robert Jordan     Máire Ní Chathasaigh     1:59

15   The Minstrel Boy     Deborah Henson-Conant     2:29

16   May Song     Rüdiger Oppermann     3:16

17   Earth, Water, Wind and Fire     Belfast Harp Orchestra     4:43


Product details

  • Original Release Date: January 1, 1998
  • Release Date: November 3, 1998
  • Label: Decca
  • Copyright: ℗ This Compilation 1998 Imaginary Road Records © 1998 Decca Music Group Limited
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. 
  • Total Length: 55:18
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B0018O71X6

More from this collection