Various Artists - Rore On Air Volume 3-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery

Various Artists - Rore On Air Volume 3

Regular price $23.98

Rore On Air Volume 3

By  Various Artists

Very Good Condition

More proof that radio would be a lot more interesting if we could all tune into KCRW/Santa Monica. This batch of 1995-'96 live tracks begins with a shivery, very electric Cowboy Junkies version of Springsteen's "State Trooper" and includes real keepers by Patti Smith ("Dancing Barefoot"), The Wallflowers, Stereolab, Ben Folds Five, Fiona Apple, and a riveting Me'Shell Ndegeocello. --Jeff Bateman

A Review:

These recordings were actually laid down between June 20th, 1994 and September 27th of 1996, with the official Street Release being February 11, 1997, featuring live performances recorded on the "Morning Becomes Eclectic" radio show on KCRW, Santa Monica, California. These on air rarities and unreleased live performances from a variety of Indie, and Alternative Rock bands were recorded for the Flagship Public Radio Station. The quality of the tracks is a bit uneven, yet even so, these are a stunning collection of songs from groups many people have had trouble seeing live ... case in point Luna, with their sensational rendition of "23 Minutes In Burssels."

The Promo release is a cardboard sleeve, which simply lists the tracking information, and the date of the actual album's release to the general public. The playing time is 64 minutes, the Producers are Bob Carlson and Chris Douridas, the Distributor is Universal Distribution, the recordings were live, and in Stereo.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. State Trooper - Cowboy Junkies
  2. Dancing Barefoot - Patti Smith
  3. Twister - Remy Zero
  4. Never Is A Promise - Fiona Apple
  5. Fall In Love With Me - Booth & The Bad Angel
  6. Alice Childress - Ben Folds Five
  7. The Official Ironmen Rally Song - Guided By Voices
  8. Spinal Column - Stereolab
  9. She's Gone - Tindersticks
  10. 23 Minutes In Brussels - Luna
  11. Ecclesiastes: Free My Heart - Me'shell Ndegeocello
  12. Angel On My Bike - The Wallflowers
  13. Imagine - Gonzalo Rubalcaba
  14. Secret O' Life - James Taylor

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 25, 1997)
  • Original Release Date: February 25, 1997
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Live
  • Label: Mammoth Records
  • ASIN: B000004AY7

More from this collection