Wham - Make It Big-CDs-Palm Beach Bookery

Wham - Make It Big

Regular price $23.98

Make It Big

By   Wham

Very Good Condition

This is the album that started it all for George and Andrew! Whether or not it will ever be "cool" to admit liking them, Make It Big sounds pretty good after all of these years. Granted, "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" is an impossible notion to begin with--who could possibly sleep after this sugar binge? But "Everything She Wants" has a sophisticated tension in its syncopation, and, wow, could the boy sing! "Careless Whisper" really showed that George Michael had a firm grasp on R&B and soul. --Steve Gdula

A Review:

Make It Big
When I think of the late-George Michael, several of the tracks on this album were how we in The States were introduced to him. While he (and his bandmate Andrew Ridgeley) achieved success in Europe with 1982's FANTASTIC (Wham! UK), for The States, it wasn't until MAKE IT BIG's "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" "Careless Whisper" "Everything She Wants" & "Freedom" hit the charts here, that they achieved the success that the album's title insinuated.
Along with the accompanying videos, Wham! were all the rage in the early-to mid 80s (along with Duran Duran, Culture Club, Paul Young, Tears For Fears and Eurythmics) and almost everyone wanted a CHOOSE LIFE t-shirt, featured in the "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" video.
Other highlights of the album are "Credit Card Baby" "Heartbeat" & "If You Were There" ... "Like A Baby" shows the maturity of the late-George Michael as a songwriter. As a matter of fact, the legend goes that the late-George Michael wrote the music & lyrics to "Careless Whisper" when he was just 16-years old, three years before ever having a record deal.
Of course, after this 1984 release, Wham! had one more studio album (the stellar but not hit-heavy MUSIC FROM THE EDGE OF HEAVEN) and then by 1987, the late-George Michael was on his own with FAITH, eclipsing anything Wham! had ever achieved.
Great music for 80s-Nostalgia sake! Make It Big

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wake Me up Before You Go-Go
  2. Everything She Wants
  3. Heartbeat
  4. Like A Baby
  5. Freedom
  6. If You Were There
  7. Credit Card Baby
  8. Careless Whisper - George Michael

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 22, 1985)
  • Original Release Date: January 22, 1985
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Columbia/CBS/Sony BMG
  • Run Time: 38 minutes
  • ASIN: B00000261P


More from this collection